State Office of Administrative Hearings
P.O. Box 13025, Austin, Texas 78711-3025
Phone 512.475.4993

Driver’s License (ALR) Witness Fee/Mileage Calculation Sheet

This calculation sheet provides information on how to calculate the amount owed to a witness for
appearance at a hearing. It is for informational purposes only and does not need to be submitted
to the administrative law judge.

e The standard witness fee is $10.00.

e Additional fees may be required depending on the distance traveled one-way by the
witness to appear at the hearing.

e If the one-way distance a witness is travelling is 12.5 miles or less, no mileage
reimbursement is required. The $10 witness fee would be the only reimbursement owed
to the witness.

e If the one-way distance a witness is travelling is more than 12.5 miles, mileage
reimbursement is required. See below for help in calculating the total witness fees owed.

e For the current mileage reimbursement rate please reference Texas Comptroller of Public
Accounts Current Travel Reimbursement Rates.

Are the miles traveled one-way greater than 12.5?
A. No.

Total reimbursement is: $10.00
B. Yes.
Total reimbursement is:
(Miles Traveled One-Way * Current Automobile Mileage Rate * 2) + $10.00

For example, if a witness traveled 20 miles one-way in January of 2018, the calculated
total reimbursement would be:

(20 * 0.545 * 2) + 10 = $31.80
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https://fmx.cpa.state.tx.us/fmx/travel/textravel/rates/current.php
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